Day 25: Activities despite and because of illness.

wp-1486142478772.jpg

Hello lovelies, thanks for stopping by again. We are getting pretty close to the end of the 30 day challenge. Day 25 is as follows:

5 activities you have managed to pursue while being ill

1. Painting and art

Painting and art are going to be on both of my lists. I don’t think that I would have pursued anything artistic if it wasn’t for the fact that I got ill. At the same time, art is calming but can also be exhausting, time consuming, and effortful.

2. Learn

I am currently on a leave of absence from school, with only 2 courses left to go. That being said, I managed to stay in school for quite a few years after being diagnosed. Additionally, despite being out of school at the moment, I continue to push myself to learn.

3. Take care of myself (mostly)

For a normal 27 year old, this might not seem like a huge deal. There is a point in your life where you should be able to take care of yourself. But being able to take care of yourself is actually quite difficult when you are sick. The reason I said I mostly take care of myself, is because I do have someone that comes in a few hours a month that help me with household chores, and do have help with running errands. That being said, I do mostly travel to appointments myself, I manage my health equipment myself, do laundry, shower, etc., myself.

4. Live on my own

Again, to a normal 27 year old this might sound like nothing. But when you’re chronically ill, faint regularly, and are reliant on IVs to live, this is quite a big deal. Yes people check on me regularly, help with tasks, and I modify things a lot so that I am able to continue to live on my own.

5. Compassion for others

There are several different “ways” you can go when you have a chronic illness. You can be bitter/angry, anxious/afraid, hopeful, etc. None of these responses are “bad” responses. They are all appropriate for the situation, and are in no means mutually exclusive. Some days I’m okay, happy, hopeful. Other days I’m a bitter, irritable bitch (pardon my language). If there is one thing I have noticed consistently throughout the chronic illness community, though, is compassion. Compassion and understanding for others and their journeys.

5 activities you have done that you would not have pursued if you had not become ill

1. Painting and art

See above.

2. Blogging

I have tried MANY times in the past to blog. I’m one of those people who falls out of the habit. The most I have blogged in the past was 1 or 2 entries. Having a chronic illness sucks, but it has given me something to write about. It has given me a unique experience to share with others who might be lost, at the start of their journey.

3. Visit hospitals, doctors, etc

I’m not saying this is a good thing (though it isn’t necessarily a bad thing). I have been introduced to some amazing health care providers, and in tern have been able to introduce others in need to those providers as well.

4. Things to do in life list

As I have mentioned in the past, this what others call a “bucket list.” I just don’t like that term, so I changed it to “things to do in life list.” I will be the first to admit that before I got sick, I took everything in life for granted. Getting sick has made me realize how fragile and short life can be.If there is something we want to do, we should do it while we still can. I never would have taken the time to think about what I wanted in life, or how I was going to achieve those things had I not gotten sick.

5. Gaming

Okay, don’t judge me. I was a casual gamer before I got sick, but since I got sick I have become a pretty hardcore gamer. Gaming has not only given me a healthy outlet for my feelings and emotions, but it has also introduced me to some pretty amazing people, as well as something I am passionate about.

 

Thanks for reading!

Lots of love,

Megan

Leave a Reply

