Day 14: Be grateful.

wp-1486142478772.jpg

Hello lovely people of the internet. Thanks for stopping by again. Happy Valentines day! Today’s post is actually quite in keeping with a day of love:

Day 14: Give 5 things you are grateful for: 

Every single person out there has something to be depressed about: No partner, no children, no money, bad health, etc. It’s human nature to focus on the bad, and ignore the good. This is a common cognitive error known as filtering, or the tendency to focus on and magnify the negative, and ignore the positive. Just because the negative takes the forefront of our brains doesn’t mean that we have to acknowledge it. We are all fortunate to be here, regardless of our life circumstances. I will absolutely be the first to admit that there are days, weeks, or even months where I don’t feel fortunate at all, and where I focus exclusively on my poor health, lack of finances, etc. I like to take the time to list things I am thankful for, positive things in my life that I can look back on during the bad times. The following are just 5 of the many things I am grateful for

Family, friends, and fur babies:  I have been very blessed to have an amazing number of supportive people within my family. Many people with chronic illness struggle with family support. That’s not to say that everyone in my family fully understands the degree of my illness, but they support me the best they can. Friends are another thing. Like any other person with a chronic illness, I’ve definitely lost some friends over the years. Chronic illness is hard to deal with, but I can only imagine what it’s like to watch someone you care about go through hell on a daily basis. Am I angry that some of my friends have abandoned me or don’t support me in the way I need? Absolutely. But I understand where they are coming from, and I have other people in my life who support me. And we, of course, cannot forget about the healing powers of fur babies.

16683926_10211756430374550_8733535933055814360_n15622678_10211265204814218_8736618105385508670_n

My fur baby, Kasper ❤

Life: It’s so easy to not be grateful for life. Disabled or not. I truly believe that many people don’t appreciate life until they’ve faced death, or felt like you might die. I absolutely never appreciated my life until this past year. I’ve been sick since 2011 with Dysautonomia, but since May of 2016 I have faced severe dehydration, malnutrition/starvation, and multiple bouts of sepsis.

Amazing health care team: I think in the US we often under appreciate having access to health care at all. I know people from other countries who simply cannot get access to what they need. There is no ideal health care system, the US included in that, but I am grateful to have access to the health care that I need. Additionally, I know plenty of people who cannot find a physician who believe them, support them, and provide them with the care that they need. I have been blessed with a health care team that believes me, supports me, and fights like hell to get me the help that I need. I am truly great for all of the members on my health care team, but in particular my PCP, Nurse Case Manager, GI and GI Nutritionist. I truly believe that these four health care providers are the reason I am alive right now.

Having a roof over my head: I know so many people who are unable to find stable housing, especially with chronic illnesses. If having a chronic illness isn’t hard enough, not knowing where you’re going to stay from one moment to the next makes it so much harder to deal with. I am lucky to have people who have fought hard for me to get stable housing as well. I am fortunate to get assistance with living.

Humor: I am starting to run out of steam and spoons, so I will just say this. Humor has been the best coping mechanism for me. Obviously I have other coping mechanisms, drawing and painting for example, but it’s amazing how much laughing can lighten my day. I try to find laughter and humor in everything, even if the situation doesn’t call for it.

Thanks for reading,

Lots of Love,

Megan

 

Leave a Reply

