Day 7 of 30 day Chronic illness challenge

wp-1486142478772.jpg

Day 7: What was your biggest realization you have had? 

It’s human nature to take things for granted. We all do it, I’m no exception. I’m not talking about the big things either (e.g., wealth, material goods, etc), I’m talking about the little things. We all take getting out of bed, being able to take a shower, having a job/being able to work, etc., for granted. It never occurred to me that getting out of bed would ever be anything other than annoying. Until getting out of bed became a chore, one that doesn’t always happen. I have made 3 major realizations of the past 6 years of my life. 1) Life can take a complete 360 in a matter of moments. In a single week I went from being a healthy, 21 year old college student, to fainting regularly. In a matter of months, I went from being able to eat with medication and a modified diet, to being unable to eat, drink, or take oral medication. 2.Life is short. The average life expectancy in the United States (where I live) is around 79 years old. 79 years seems like a long time, but it goes by quickly. Some people make it past 79, and others fall quite short of 79. It’s important to do what we want and can now, because 79 comes before we know it. 3. Life is about how WELL you’ve lived, not how LONG you’ve lived. You can live a long life, and still not be happy. Additionally, you can live a life filled with tests, trials, illness, and difficulties and still have a good life! I hope that I live a long, happy life. As many of us do. But I’m going to try to live well now, because tomorrow isn’t promised to us.

Lots of love,

Megan

Leave a Reply

