Hello! Introduction time!!

I’ve always been bad at starting and following through with a blog. Not because I don’t want to follow through. Honestly, I don’t know why I don’t follow through. But one of my new years resolutions, and part of my bucket list is to start and actively post on a Blog, Vlog, or both. I never know how to start these things, however, I have found the following image to aid in my blog posts for the next month.

16406896_10207010722820415_5099143619686370397_n

Day 1: Introduce yourself. What illnesses do you have? How long have you had them? 
So let me start by “briefly” introducing myself. My name is Megan. I turned 27 at the beginning of January. I am also a chronic illness warrior. I was going to school for Psychology with the hope of going to medical school, when I originally got sick (at 21). Initially, I experienced multiple episodes of fainting on a daily basis. After 7 months of fighting, going from Dr. to Dr., and traveling to the Cleveland Clinic, I was diagnosed with a form of Dysautonomia, called Postural Orthostatic Tachycardia Syndrom (POTS). Dysautonomia, for anyone who doesn’t know, is a dysfunction of the Autonomic Nervous System (ANS). The ANS regulates the involuntary, automatic functions of the body. As such, I cannot effectively regulate my heart rate, blood pressure, body temperature, and digestion. When I stand my heart rate increases, and my blood pressure drops, and I faint. Because of this, and severe weakness I am left wheelchair bound. My condition was well controlled until May 2016 when I started struggling to eat. I progressively deteriorated over the next few months. First, I could only take in small amounts of specific solid foods, then I could only take in liquids, then only clear liquids, and now I am unable to take in anything orally without severe nausea and vomiting. Over a period of 4 months, I lost nearly 70lbs. I failed treatment after treatment, and am now fully dependent on Total Parenteral Nutrition (TPN). TPN is a way of hydrating and nourishing a person through their veins, completely bypassing the digestive system. TPN is amazing in that it has kept me alive, but it is not without risks. TPN is very high in sugar contents, and as such has a very high risk of sepsis (a severe, potentially deadly, infection in the blood). In the 4-5 months that I have been on TPN, I have developed sepsis twice. Additionally, in the long run, TPN can also cause liver damage or failure.
it gets difficult coping with all of these conditions at such a young age. Most days I do well coping, but as one can imagine, it gets difficult at times. I’m hoping I can maintain this blog not only for myself as another skill in my big book of coping mechanisms, but also to reach out to others experiencing health issues.

With love,

Megan

Leave a Reply

